1. amandai1307

amandai1307 New Member

Question about copyright rule

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by amandai1307, Aug 6, 2007.

I was hoping someone could answer my question. It may seem silly,but I am new to both writing and forums. In the rules it says:

You must own the copyright to all work claimed your own.

What does this mean? How do you copyright your work if it hasn't been published? Also, how do you prove that you own the copyright to your work?

Could someone please clarify this for me?
    Thanks,
    Amanda

2. Raven

Raven Banned

Good Question.

You may post up your own work short stories and poetry and Lyrics. But we advise with Novels you only post up sections unless fan fiction (Fan Fiction is a story you write regarding another topic that has already been created eg Star Wars Harry Potter Warhammer 40,000) Now your own work its best you have some copyright over your novels because if someone else see's it they may attempt to pinch it. However so far in the time this forum has been active that has not happened. But then most of the members are honest here.

As for copyrighting your work you'll have to look into that yourself its different for everyone.

if you want to post up your writing Novel stuff I suggest a few chapters. Same with screen writing screen plays.

In hope that helps a little. Any other questions please feel free to Email me or send me a PM.

~Raven.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

as soon as you write it, your work is automatically copyrighted in the us and many other countries [signatories to the berne convention, i believe]:

it's always best to go to the source for accurate info:

U.S. Copyright Office - Frequently Asked Questions

British Copyright Council

wouldn't this be good info to keep as a sticky, raven?

love and hugs, maia

4. Crazy Ivan

Crazy Ivan New Member

Indeed it would. We could throw it in with the noobie packets.

5. Cogito