1. orbitalcommand

orbitalcommand New Member

1st person narrator vs 3rd person (cheat)

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by orbitalcommand, May 13, 2011.

Hello,

I'm a beginner writer from Europe. I'm trying to write a book in my native language (which is not English). Anyway I think the general rules are the same among other languages so that's why I have created an account here.

Ok well I have been researching about 1st person narration. I know that it builds pretty well connection with the reader and this is what I really need. However I'm not really good with 1st person narration. I was thinking whether it is possible to do a little cheat here?

For example I'm planning to use 3rd person narration. However my main character is going to use dictaphone (portable recorder/recording machine) in order to express his thoughts and feelings. I'm planning to do something similar for the second main character but this time covered as a mental disease (speaking to himself).

So dear forum members what do you think about this idea? Is it suitable? Can it work properly?

Thanks!

2. JimFlagg

JimFlagg New Member

I do not know what this means.

As for tricks (assuming that is what you mean by cheat) on how to do first person I like the "Which and Wizard" books for an example of this. There are two main characters in this book and the writer uses chapters to switch between their first person narratives. This way the read doe not get confused as to who's point of view they are reading.

I am not saying this is the only way to do it. Just be careful because if you get too many "I" references people might not know who is narrating.

Good Luck.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

anything is possible...

and anything can be 'suitable' and work, if you write well enough to get away with it...