Tags:
  1. Sylvia Rosemond

Sylvia Rosemond New Member

2D Games with a Good Story

Discussion in 'Entertainment' started by Sylvia Rosemond, Jun 28, 2015.

I love 2 things, programming and telling stories. Since high school I always wanted to be a game developer. However, overtime I realize something, I dream to big! From the start, I always imagined that my games would be massive 3D games. It's when I sat down and realized a few things, that's when it really came into perspective. I'm not good at art, so creating 3D environments is not an option. However, I know someone who is willing to give her time to make 2d characters/environments. Which brings me to my next question.

Do you know any 2D games that have good game play, BUT also a good story?

T.Trian likes this.
  2. Dante Dases

Dante Dases Contributor Contributor

Final Fantasy VI.

Don't think I need to say any more.

3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Some of the older RPGs for the SNES had amazing stories and gameplay. Chrono Trigger is probably my favorite. The older Zelda games were really good, too.

Man, I'm getting nostalgic just thinking about all this.

T.Trian and Hubardo like this.
  4. plothog

plothog Contributor Contributor

The old Lucas arts graphical adventures spring to mind.

Especially Secret of Monkey Island and Day of the Tentacle.

5. izzybot

izzybot (unspecified) Contributor

Metroid Fusion is my favorite of the sidescrolling Metroids. Going through my steam library I'd say Cthulhu Saves the World, Rogue Legacy (not a great story but an interesting idea), Home, They Bleed Pixels, and debatably Starbound. None of these are particularly story-driven, barring maybe CSTW since it's an rpg, but personally I think games that give the player just enough to inspire them to make their own stories are some of the coolest (see Starbound).

T.Trian likes this.
  6. Kingtype

Kingtype Banned Contributor