Tags:
  1. Pops

Pops New Member

Use of pronouns?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Pops, Sep 5, 2008.

Hi everybody...I've been writing for a few months now, and every time I show what I've done to somebody, the person always tell me there are too many personal pronouns. Anybody knows how I could reduce the use of these pronouns? Do you use them frequently yourself? What what can you replace them when you write in the first person?
    Thanks in advance :)

2. Jade

Jade Active Member

Have you got a small example so we can see properly what you mean?

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

I had to delete the last couple of posts, because it was switching from general discussion to a critique of an extract.

All critique MUST take place in the Review Room forums, after meeting the reviewing requirements.

As for your question, That is one reason to avoid a first person perspective. It is a much harder perspective to write well in, but the key is to mostly look outward. However, you usually might as well write in third person then, in most cases.

You can nearly always substitute a noun for a third person pronoun, unlike first person. Also, if you vary the sentence structure so the pronouns don't begin every sentences, they won;t stick out as much.

4. Pops

Pops New Member

I apologize...I am not looking for a critic, I just wanted to help people see what my problem was. I'm sorry :)

5. Still Life

Still Life Active Member