1. Lilly James Haro

Lilly James Haro The Grey Warden

A Couple of Questions About Writing a Narrator (and one about POC)

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Lilly James Haro, Jul 16, 2014.

So I've recently started writing my first novel, it is set in a post-apocalyptic world and is written like an autobiography of a woman born in a privileged position who had the opportunity to save the protagonist's life but ended up not taking it. However, this is my first time writing in first person instead of third person, so I have a few questions.

First of all, should the narrator be a good person or someone the reader relates to?
    I am asking this because it seems a lot of first-person stories are written so that the reader can relate to the narrator or the narrator is the protagonist. Whereas the narrator in my story is weak, she allowed herself to be manipulated by the antagonist because she was afraid of how it would effect her life. I am not sure if this is something a reader wants to read or not.

Secondly, should you describe the main character and does your main character require a first name?
    Again I am asking this because at the moment the only description of her is that she is a woman who is around 50-60 and is referred to only as Dr Black. After pages of descriptions I have read in other books, again I am wondering.

Lastly, (this is about all characters) is it acceptable for a white author to write people of colour like this or is what I am doing 'whitewashing'?
    This is a question that has been bothering me for a while and I have tried to look it up before but I have been getting conflicting answers. While some articles say as long as you don't create a caricature or use negative stereotypes you can do whatever you want, whereas others say if you don't write a POC a certain way you are whitewashing them.