Tags:
  1. arron89

arron89 Banned

Revealing Race

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by arron89, Jun 18, 2009.

Ok so this isn't really Character development, so move as/if necessary...

I've hit a small snag in writing a new...thing....
    I have this Chinese chick character, and I don't know how to reveal to the reader without a) straight out saying "She is Chinese", cuz that just doesn't fit at all into the story so far (and I'm not a fan of those kinds of she was blah blah, with blah blah hair and blah blah descriptions) or (b) using cheesy racial stereotypes. She doesn't have a name that screams "I'm Chinese!!!!" and I don't really want to change it, but I'm having considerable difficulty revealing her racial identity without sounding like a douchebag. And I mean, I guess its not essential to the story, but as a writer, I want the reader to see what I see, and when I see it, she's asian.

So! Any ideas? The style/genre is sorta....literary romantic surreal comedy? but for the sake of this section i guess romantic comedy is the key bit....

2. cybrxkhan

cybrxkhan New Member

If this is comedy, putting in description is fine... As long as it's funny, of course. For example, you could use a stereotype but twist it to your comedic style.

Another possibility is to reveal it through dialogue. I'm not talking about "And then Mary said, 'Oh, by the way, I'm Chinese'"

Here's a badly written example:

Bob the rascist said, "Hey, you, little Jap girl, get out of the way!"

The girl got red in the face, and roared, grabbing the 300 pound Bob and throwing him all the way across the room. "I'm no Japanese, I'm CHINESE, FOR GODS SAKE! CAN'T YOU PEOPLE TELL THE DIFFERENCE!"

---

Yes, I just thought of that example up in 2 seconds, but it gives you the idea - this could be for character development, in conclusion. So, like in my horrid example up there, we've just learned this girl has a pretty bad temper, besides the fact that she's Chinese.

3. Velvet Muse