1. Tim3232

Tim3232 Active Member

Comfortable reading or what published authors can get away with

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Tim3232, Sep 16, 2015.

I’ve selected a book to read based on the author having written some amusing/different crime books. There’s a death on Page 1. Pages 2 & 3 are about what I suspect are the author’s opinions on the composer, Stockhausen. It moves on a little and then on P12 I get a comparison on two poets. On p14 I get half page about the apple orchard that her mother can see from the window. And on it goes. Some of this, I can see, is building up characters. But for me a lot of it is filler. My eyes slide down the page, evaluate whether I need to concentrate or just pick up a few words and move on, or just ignore. I know some of it could be atmosphere – but what the protagonist’s mother thinks of the orchard just doesn’t interest me or add anything to the story.

I’m sure as an unpublished writer I couldn’t get away with this. Or is that I’m just an impatient reader?

I've only got to P25 and I'm posting this - so yeah, I'm an impatient reader.

2. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

Sounds like that book should've gone through more editing. I wouldn't have the protagonist muse about an orchard garden unless it were somehow important to character development or the plot.

jannert likes this.
  3. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

I can understand impatience. If I find myself skimming, I often just stop reading because I'm not engaged by the author's style.

However, no reader can't accurately judge what is filler and what isn't until they get to the end. Details may be there to develop character. That's what 'showing' versus telling is all about. And also be aware that a major plot twist may result from what the protagonist's mother thinks of the orchard.