1. Zombie_Chinchilla

Zombie_Chinchilla New Member

Something Deeper Than Good Vs. Evil

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Zombie_Chinchilla, Oct 19, 2010.

Lately, I've been having this trouble in a lot my novels. Many of them have two different people fighting, giving it the theme of "good vs. evil," which I've never been a huge fan of.

I do like to read books that are good vs evil, though, but as a writer I've been wanting to challenge myself to have something deeper. I do have a book that's between two armies of two different countries, but there's a character in the enemy army who has suffered in the same way as the MC, and joined the army because he was hurt in the war. But I don't want to do that same thing with other novels, so I've been trying to think of other ways to make the theme deeper. But I'm drawing a blank.

Help, please? :3

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Contention for access to a vital resource that is in too short a supply to share?

Two groups suffering from the same event, for which each blames the other, and no one ever finds out which (if either) was actually at fault?

3. I think for most realistic "good vs evil" stories, the evil characters are not so much as evil as troubled, mislead and probably angry and mad.

There are of course, evil people in the world. Ones with little compassion save their own relations, but they are still a product of their upbringing and environment.

You can see by watching crime shows that many of the murderers are actually a product of loss, anger and other wild human emotions.

Even a character as evil as Sauron was not evil in the beginning. As described here:

There's more to his story but it appears Sauron was a product of his own desire for control and order, which let to his downfall.

4. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

It's not realistic to have a 100% evil character like Lord Voldemort, you're right.