1. Stoic Trigger Man

Stoic Trigger Man New Member

A Hit Man that is likeable?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Stoic Trigger Man, Jul 30, 2011.

Hey Guys and Gals,

I'm a noob, so go gently please :cool:

So, I've had problems motivating myself to start my second novel. The main premise or underlying theme is how power and money corrupt even the most altruistic of souls.

Please bare with me on some backstory of my protagonist, if you can call him that.

He's a trigger man that is generally apathetic towards life, thus why he is an expert at his profession. He has a military background, a rough family history, and isn't the biggest fan of people. However, he doesn't take joy in the killing process, but is efficient.

1) With the corruption angle, I want the US gov't involved (namely Big Pharma and the FDA corruption), and I can't seem to come up with a convincing way to get across his employment as a hit man. I can't figure out who his "employer" is...

2) How can I make him sympathetic (not necessarily likeable) to the reader? I mean, he's a hit man, they're not exactly saviors of society :p

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to read this and help out.

EDIT: Thought I'd give less backstory ;)

2. SK.Knolls

SK.Knolls New Member

You say hitmen aren't saviors, but perhaps he could be. It seems you are a bit uncertain who you want his employer to be, consider making them the "good guys" against the "bad," for lack of better definition. For example, a group deems a rising politician to be a dangerous dictator with an itch for war and tyranny. Through the hiring of this hitman, your character could indeed be seen as a type of empathetic killer, this one life to ease the suffering of many. This is a loose example, but it could be fitting. This scenario appears to be rather common in this day and age.