1. Justin941

Justin941 New Member

Can a school (College) deny you a grade due to topic of a paper?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Justin941, Oct 12, 2010.

(EDIT: Sorry if this is the wrong section, just didn't see anywhere that it could of went so I just figured this would be the place.)

I am in my first semester of college, and soon we have a big paper coming up in my english class. And I am intending on writing it on a topic I am strongly interested in, but I am afraid that it might be too touchy of a subject. Especially in the area I live.

The topic I am wanting to write on is the debate on religion. And to voice my own views. I have been doing alot of research on the topic over the past few months and I am confident I am able to have a very well written argument. That will give views from both side, but also reflect my views on the subject.

I have been reading several great books to try and get even more knowledge on the subject.

1. The Grand Design - Stephen Hawking

2. The God Delusion - Richard Dawking

3. Letter to a Christian Nation - Sam Harris

All great peices of writings, and very well researched and explained why there views are the way they are.

I am wanting to write on this topic, because it's something I don't see being talked about much. Sure there are alot of great minds, that speak out about the subject. But looked at by numbers, very few people actually decide to talk about the subject in the United States.

I'm not looking to bash religion or push my views on anyone, I am just looking to point out things I don't agree with and just argue my views. And show why I feel alot of things don't add up.