1. rlspin

rlspin New Member

Self Editing Dilemma

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by rlspin, Apr 30, 2015.

Hi Everyone

I'm new to this forum and was wondering if I could get some advice?

I have begun my first novel and have a pretty clear vision of where I want to go with it.
    My problem is editing whilst writing!
    After my initial writing spurt, averaging around 1000 words per day (I know a lot of people who advise 1500 - 2000 words a day but I'm pretty new to Novel writing), I'm now averaging a paragraph a day! 1 Paragraph!
    I initially figured it was some form of 'Writer Block' in the sense that I knew what to say but not how to say it, but I've recently come to the conclusion that its because I keep editing what I write, constantly!
    I cant move on unless I feel the paragraph is right.

Does anyone have any techniques or advice to help me stop this behaviour?
    ANY advice would be greatly appreciated it.

2. stevesh

stevesh Banned Contributor

I would suggest that you don't worry about what people you don't know say about how many words you should write every day. If you're ending up with one paragraph that's exactly how you want it, I don't see anything wrong with that for now. My guess is that your daily production will increase as you gain experience with writing and editing, and you'll eventually wonder why you worried about it.

Mckk, rlspin and cutecat22 like this.
  3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor