1. sashas

sashas New Member

A Question of Plot

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by sashas, May 23, 2007.

I'm a newbie writer.
    I frankly, havent read or written even 10% of what many people on this site have.

However, I do have a lot of (what I believe) highly original plots...
    Can a great plot compensate for an OK writing style (I don't know how good I am at the style)?

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

Sashas,

Go ahead and get writing. Plot is important, but style is too. As you write, you'll improve. Your voice will develop more fully and come through.

Don't worry if, for the first few chapters, you fell a bit drifting--trying to nail things down such as characters, personalities, description etc. That will come as you get to know your story and characters a little better. And your writing will improve the more you write.

Don't worry, your novel will have to be set aside once the first draft is finished and then taken up for major editing and revision anyway.

Good luck and hang in there. So many people start, but don't ever finish. Be one of those that finishes the first draft, edits/revises, reflects and gets input, edits/revises. Edits and proofs one final time and submits! (and then starts another project while waiting for a response to the first ;) ) It's a long road, but worth it.

Terry

3. Domoviye

Domoviye New Member

Proud Canadian. Currently teaching in Nanjing, Chi
    I started writing only a few months ago. And my first story was going to be a big novel length one. It didn't go as well as I'd planned.
    But from the mistakes I made, and the right things I did, my writing style improved drastically.
    So I set that first project aside (although its waiting to be picked back up when I'm willing to put the time in), and started writing some other stories. These ones are ten times better, and improving.