1. c.n.nevets

c.n.nevets New Member

Character Writer

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by c.n.nevets, Apr 27, 2009.

All---

My name is C. N. Nevets, and I'm a writer. You can call me Nevets. Most folks do.

I've been writing since I was teenager. My first novel was a Western I wrote when I was about fourteen. It has unfortunately, I believe, been lost to time. It was in the neighborhood of sixty pages long, and I seem to remember that it was full of gripping suspense.

Since then I've written just about anything one can write. Fan fiction, poetry, genre fiction, experimental literary fiction, screenplays, audioplays, etc... With the exception of scripts I wrote for two years for a college radio sketch show, most of my stuff has never seen the light of day. I am currently embarking on a committed path to changing that. I have pledged to write on at least one project each day, and to send out at least one submission or query each week.

One thing that's held up my writing was several early rejections. Being rejected per se did not fluster or even necessarily surprise me. Form rejections were very disheartening, however, because they left me uncertain where to go from there. A couple other rejections showed by comments that the readers hadn't really paid attention to what they were reading, and that frustrated me to. What I've learned at this point in my life is that there's nothing I can do about those sort of things, and I can't let other people stop me from persevering.

The other thing that has held up writing has been a reluctance to pigeon-hole myself into a genre. That continues to this day. I write about characters and their internal struggles. The context of that varies based on the struggle I'm dealing with. I know that marketability requires that I pick a basic genre / form, but I still haven't figured out how to do that without robbing myself of the potential I see in other genres and forms.