Tags:
  1. Wayne Harrison

Wayne Harrison New Member

How to get around "he knew" ??

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Wayne Harrison, Feb 16, 2014.

I'm finaly setting down at the urging of my wife, to write the novel I've been researching for the past nine years. It is a current-day sci-fi novel that involves real places and incorporates some real things (like a particuar Native American Pueblo and their beliefs. It also involves science and researching those two subjects (both online, by book and prowling the Western History section of the Denver Public Library has occupied a lot of time. I've also procrastinated a lot, but I'm about to turn 65 and I really want to finish this. I do not desire a career as a novelist, as I've spent 50 years writing in radio, newspapers and TV. I have this one book in me that has been percoating for years in my brain and I'm ready to pour it out.

So I've written two chapters of the first draft and I catch myself writing "he knew blah blah blah." As in "He knew he could never keep a secret from his wife." In just the first two chapters I've used that crutch several times. I'm hoping for some tips on ways not to use that phrase as it is already growing tiresome.

I was pleased to see Scrivener as a sponsor here because that is the software I am using to write the novel.

Andrae Smith and JayG like this.
  2. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

Why not just drop the "He knew"? "He knew he could never keep a secret from his wife" becomes "He could never keep a secret from his wife."

I like Scrivener too! :)

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Hi Wayne, welcome to the forum. You are describing the new writer's 'telling not showing' tendency. You need to master a few principles and you'll find other ways to reveal what 'he knew' without hitting the reader over the head with it.

"He knew he could never keep a secret from his wife."