1. Lae

Lae Contributor Contributor

Mind's eye or...err normal eye?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Lae, Mar 7, 2014.

Which do you use when creating characters, settings, ideas?

Do you paint or draw your stories? your characters? do you draw maps? visually design worlds or universes?

or do you just imagine it and paint it with words?

I find sketching things helps me describe my ideas because i have visual cues.

2. Lewdog

Lewdog Come ova here and give me kisses! Supporter Contributor

Mind's eye is like intuition. Your regular eye would be problem solving or decision making based on what you see and expect.

3. Andrae Smith

Andrae Smith Bestselling Author|Editor|Writing Coach Contributor

I find myself drawing picture after picture of characters. I know my readers won't get all of these details, but we should always know more than we present. Drawing helps me make them tangible. I can design and redesign them as I imagine them.

I'm not very good with drawing landscapes, so I usually avoid them. (I draw what I can visualize.) However, I will draw some scenes now and again. As for universes and maps and such, I tried, but it only helped so much because the story was evolving away from there. I think if you create a map as you explore your world it might help you concretize a few things for your revision.

4. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

I like visuals. I'm a crap artist. I've seen your stuff @Lae, and not in a million lifetimes could I draw to the quality that you do. I'm great at manipulating and repurposing found visuals or drawing maps with GIMP. I'm pretty good at the map thing.

GingerCoffee likes this.
  5. Lae