Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JessWrite
    Offline

    JessWrite Word Nerd & Proud! Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    283
    Location:
    My Old Kentucky Home

    Ad Covering Login

    Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by JessWrite, Jun 3, 2012.

    Sorry to have to voice this, but I was wondering if any of you were having a similar problem. The main ad next to the Writing Forums logo is on top of the login info, so I'm unable to log in from there. I have to click one of the workshop threads to bring up the "Oops you have to login" page. I'm unable to check my messages and settings on my computer, I have to get on my iPod instead to do that.

    It's happened once before, but went away quickly. This time it's been a few hours.

    Thanks! :)

    ~Jess
     
  2. Dante Dases
    Offline

    Dante Dases Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, England
    I'll send Daniel a PM and see if anything can be done. It might just be a temporary fault with the formatting of the forum. Bear with us while we try to get it sorted.
     
  3. Cogito
    Offline

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,935
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    It would help to know what browser you are using. The page layouts seem to have been tested only with IE - Firefox also has elements covered up in certain circumstances.
     
  4. JessWrite
    Offline

    JessWrite Word Nerd & Proud! Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    283
    Location:
    My Old Kentucky Home
    Thanks for your quick responses!

    I use Firefox, but I checked IE too, and it does the same thing. Could it possibly be just on my side?
     
  5. Youniquee
    Offline

    Youniquee (◡‿◡✿) Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Under your bed.
    I'm having this problem too! I was going to bring it up yesterday...
    I use Google Chrome btw.
     
  6. Gonissa
    Offline

    Gonissa Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Ghost Tower
    I also am on Chrome, and the ads cover the login.
     
  7. Cogito
    Offline

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,935
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    It's possible it's a general layout problem, not specific to the browser. I don't know how much testing Daniel did after making changes to the page templates. He is not a professional web designer (nor am I, and I don't have the access to make changes anyway). But this is the kind of problem that can certainly crop up when modifying layouts.
     
  8. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    i haven't seen this happen at all... perhaps you just neet to expand your window a bit more, if you haven't got it full-screen?
     
  9. Youniquee
    Offline

    Youniquee (◡‿◡✿) Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Under your bed.
    I'm on full screen already. It can't be expanded any more...

    It's strange how this wasn't happening before...I don't come on for like 2 days then it happens now..
    Did the layout change recently or something?
     
  10. P R Crawford
    Offline

    P R Crawford Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Morocco
    Same problem in Safari, FYI.
     
  11. servvs
    Offline

    servvs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's happening on chrome, firefox, and ie for me. However, it didn't happen at school so I'm not sure what's going on.
     
  12. DrZombie
    Offline

    DrZombie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My assumption would be it depends on resolution. On my laptop with a resolution of 1366x768 I'm having the same issue, but just checked on my desktop (1600x900) and it's fine. Both using Chrome.

    ETA: Changing the size of the ad would most likely fix the issue. Maybe try changing it to a percentage instead of px value if you can, so it would look the same on all browsers without covering anything.
     
  13. Erato
    Offline

    Erato Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    A place called home
    I'm in Safari, and I could only get to the login field by hitting tab several times and taking a guess when it disappeared. If I start from the URL field I then go to the google search field and then to the WF search field and then the cursor disappears - then I'm in the login field.
     
  14. Cogito
    Offline

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,935
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    The ads come from a feed. Changing the size of the ad itself is not under the direct control of the admin.
     
  15. Youniquee
    Offline

    Youniquee (◡‿◡✿) Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Under your bed.
    Will this ever be fixed or are us users just going to have to 'live with it'?
    0_o
     
  16. Cogito
    Offline

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,935
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    You'll have to live with it until Daniel can look into it.
     
  17. Erato
    Offline

    Erato Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    A place called home
    It's fixed for me.
     
  18. live2write
    Offline

    live2write Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    53
    I had this happen on my mini laptop. I resolved it by making the window smaller and it shifted the ad lower on the page.
     
  19. the1
    Offline

    the1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah, this issue happens due to the resolution of your screen. I doubt Daniel will want to change the size of the header ad unit as the current size is supposed to generate higher income.
     
  20. P R Crawford
    Offline

    P R Crawford Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Morocco
    @live2write - good suggestion. That works.
     
  21. koal4e
    Offline

    koal4e Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep, I didnt have a problem and just played around, if you keep your finger on Ctrl and use the roller on your mouse it will change the size of the internet screen, I found that if I made it smaller the ad moved up and covered the top bar with the login...making it a little bigger solves the problem. It might be down to the settings on a laptop as the screen is smaller?
     
  22. shadowwalker
    Offline

    shadowwalker Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    851
    The roller thing works - but it's a pain when you have to keep switching size because of vision problems... hopefully this will get fixed soon.
     
  23. Agatha Christie
    Offline

    Agatha Christie Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    6
    HELP! Can't use normal login box.

    I have had to go all round the houses to login. There is a big horizontal advert that keeps popping up across the login box. I have only just found an alternative way to login but it is very inconvenient. Please remove the advert across the login box. I have emailed support@writingforums but I get absolutely no response....
     
  24. jg22
    Offline

    jg22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same problem here, very irritating.
     
  25. nzric
    Offline

    nzric Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Same thing happening here. Using a laptop with 14.1 inch screen, 1366 x 768 resolution, on Chrome. Weird, the adverts don't display at all when I go to the site through IE.

    Oh, quick way round it from Home page view... the password textbox pokes out slightly on the edge of the advert. Click on that then Shift&Tab to backtrack to the username field. Type username, tab to password textbox and press enter.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page