1. winoforever

winoforever New Member

Dialogue: changes of tone in a sentence

Discussion in 'Dialogue Development' started by winoforever, Mar 19, 2016.

Since this is my first post: English is my native language but not the language I studied; I grew up in France. I often struggle writing in English.

I have a bit of dialogue to include in a creative a non-fiction article. The character changes tone in the sentence, from enthusiastic to suspicious, even conspiratorial.

Here it goes:

"You should go and visit this guy in Honfleur", the old farmer said. "He sells his cheese for 10 euros! Something's up."

My question is: does "Something's up" fully convey the farmer's suspicion?

Or should I work on something I do not have the chops to achieve, like:

The old farmer began with enhusiasm "You should go and visit this guy in Honfleur", proceeded with shock “He sells his cheese for 10 euros!”, finished with suspicion “Something’s up.”

Thank you for your help.

2. Lifeline

Lifeline South. Supporter Contributor

Short answer: No, it doesn't convey it.
    Longer answer: You should try enlarging this sentence. Include bodily reactions (a headshake after the high price is mentioned) or even a chance of inflection in the voice (maybe growing quieter while the farmer turns away).

Just now I don't have a sense of the farmer. 'old' is not enough to describe him to me, I want to see this guy's personality. Yeah he is a sidekick, but that does not mean you shouldn't give him the opportunity to shine as long as he can. Is he cranky? Is his face weathered from long days in the sun? Is he stoical about it? There are a myriad ways this little line can play out and only you can decide which way to go.

5c :)

Seraph751 likes this.
  3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Hi, welcome to the forum.

The second one is definitely not the way to go. You want the reader to experience the mood, you don't want them to be told what the mood is.