1. Jessica_312

Jessica_312 Contributing Member

Advice for a Query Letter

Discussion in 'Publishing' started by Jessica_312, Apr 29, 2011.

I'm getting ready to send out my (very first!) query letter to a literary agent. While I've done a bit of research on what to include in a query, I am still brand new to this and any advice is appreciated.

I open the letter by addressing the agent (Dear Mr ___)
    Then I say: Below is a query for my novel
    The next paragraph is a brief blurb that reads like a back book cover (very brief overview, the "hook", I guess you could call it)
    The second paragraph provides a slightly more detailed summary of the plot
    Now the third paragraph is where I really need the help. I know I'm supposed to say a bit about myself, and here's what I said (again, any advice is appreciated)

I leave open the possibility of a sequel for this story, though this novel can absolutely stand on its own, as the storyline within it is resolved. Elizabeth Griffin (the heroine of my novel) is a very relatable character to me, in that we are both 25 year old females with insecurities and feelings of abandonment related to our pasts. Unfortunately, I have never had a book published before, nor have I ever sought publication. I have, however, been writing creatively since I was seven-years-old - it has been my lifelong dream to become a published author, and I have worked nearly my entire life towards that goal. I read more books every year than I can count, and I have especially always been fascinated with supernatural thrillers. I am constantly having others read my work and am always open to any criticism, which I feel only makes me a stronger writer. I believe that I have a knack for words, a keen eye for detail, and a vivid imagination that translates well onto paper. I would love to have the opportunity to prove my worth to you.