1. Woof

Woof Senior Member

Advice for memorising and performing your work?

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by Woof, May 8, 2015.

I'm relatively new to performing at open mic nights, and still spend much of my time shuffling paper. It gets in the way of a good performance, I know, so I'm trying to learn my poems by heart now I feel a little more confident. Anyone have any tips, advice, and/or experience that could help? Thanks!

StevieT likes this.
  2. BrianIff

BrianIff I'm so piano, a bad punctuator. Contributor

Singing it helps. Someone suggested that when I had to memorise a poem. I think it worked.

Last edited: May 14, 2015
  3. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor

I think that's how Leonard Cohen became a most unlikely singing star - 'cos he never could sing.

4. StevieT

StevieT New Member

I have a lot of experience with open mic nights and I agree with you that it's best to not use any paper at all.

Basically you just have to recite your poem for 30 minutes a day and gradually do it from the top of your head. That's the only way I found it works, you can do a lot of memorization techniques but I don't like to bother with them because I don't want these to come up when I'm performing. I really want to pour it out of my heart and head. If you can't remember your work during the performance, just create a silence and put your body in a position: it's amazing to see how great a silence can work at any time during a song or a poem.

For learning it by heart: write down next to each sentence in which ways you can express it.

For example:

"She left me for another sucker"

You could say this angry, sad, relieved, scared. And then practice all of these. Then during your performance you don't think about any of that and be in the moment.