1. diegzumillo

diegzumillo New Member

Advice on creating stories in semi-fictitious worlds

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by diegzumillo, Apr 13, 2013.

Hello there

First of all, please don't cringe at the possible writing mistakes in this post as English is not my native language.

I'm not a writer, I come here as an indie game developer asking for some general directions regarding the story aspect of games. I'm not a game developer either, by the way, this is a hobby.

My questions aren't about story telling or actually writing, but creating the universe. I have this pet project of mine that lives in my mind for years, the gameplay is solid, the environment where it happens not so much though, I have pictures in my head, half dialogues, places and characters. Just enough to make me like this world and nothing more. My main obstacle, in a nutshell, is this: it's an espionage story set during the 70s, filled with unrealistic technology for the time (both then and now) and I just don't want to use real countries and real events like US and Russia during the cold war. I have nothing against basing a story in real events but I really want to avoid using real names, which forces me to either omit names, which could be very difficult given the international nature of espionage stories, or create a whole new world.

Sorry for not having a clear question. Writing is just so out of my league, I appreciate any advice or comments!

2. GreasyLocks

GreasyLocks New Member

I can't get Harry Tipper from Time Splitters out of my head now. I think the key is consistency, if it's going to be camp and outrageous and obviously based on real life villains, be consistently camp and outrageous and it'll seem to all fit together. I would use real countries, to give the player a point of reference, but fictional characters (with typical names from their countries) and semi-fictional events. Put your own twist on the Cliches and conventions to give it an original feeling