1. LemonOfTheAsylum

LemonOfTheAsylum New Member

Ages!

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by LemonOfTheAsylum, Dec 15, 2010.

Okay I am a young person, who writes good stories. But is it okay if I write my MC as an older person? In third person though. I'm still a student and I am writing my MC's job to be what I want to pursue as my full time career.

2. SashaMerideth

SashaMerideth New Member

Best advice is to not seek affirmation, but to write.

1 person likes this.
  3. FrankABlissett

FrankABlissett Active Member

It's not only okay, but it's expected that you try to write about characters unlike yourself. You won't always get it right, but you should try.

In her 20s, Jenny Joseph wrote the poem "Warning", including the lines "When I am an old woman I shall wear purple / With a red hat that doesn't go and doesn't suit me."

Her depiction of a strong, independent elder woman was so compelling that for decades she heard "Oh. I thought you were older." Now that she's in her 60s, I guess she probably doesn't get that anymore!

-Frank

4. Lothgar

Lothgar New Member

It is okay for you to write stories about ancient mythological Greek gods that have lived for longer than creation itself...so why wouldn't it be okay to write about an older MC?

I'm just sayin'

5. write_star

write_star New Member

Why wouldn't it be? Personally, I'd love to see an older person from a younger person's perspective. If you're worried, just do a little bit of research about the said career, etc (which might not be a bad idea anyway). Truthfully, I write fanfiction, and although I'm only 20, I find that most of the people I'm writing about are thirty, forty, or older! I say go for it, and good luck!

6. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

I'm a thirty four year old woman - first story was a seventeen year old boy, second and third a thirty year old gay man and fourth a hundred and thirty year old gay man lol