1. MusingWordsmith

MusingWordsmith Shenanigan Master Contributor

How to Write Debilitating Injury

Discussion in 'Research' started by MusingWordsmith, Oct 13, 2016.

Hey, newbie here, wanting to see if anyone more knowledgeable than her has any thoughts.

So, for the purpose of my story, one of my MC's has a debilitating injury likely caused by some sort or medieval type weapon (aka no guns). He's a die-hard rebel so it'd have to be serious enough that he can't fight for his cause anymore, but I do want him to be able to get around on his own somewhat. Thoughts from someone who knows how this stuff works better than I do?

I appreciate it, thank you!

2. IHaveNoName

IHaveNoName Senior Member Community Volunteer

So... missing limb? Blinded? Deaf? Crippled or paralyzed?

What cause does he serve? That could help determine a good injury.

3. izzybot

izzybot (unspecified) Contributor

Is it a medieval type setting to go along with those medieval type weapons? I'd definitely put some thought into what kind of medical care is available, as in what kind of debilitating injury he could actually survive (if there's magic or something I guess it's not as much of an issue). His leg could be injured somewhat superficially but get infected and due to the lack of medical knowledge, it was just lopped off above the knee or so to stave off gangrene.

4. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    Did you get him shot in the knee with an arrow? :p That's not very nice. :D

Shallow cuts from a blade, or an arrow to an extremity should do it, and still keep them mobile.
    As long as the wound is treated as needed, and they cleaned the wound free of debris or an arrow
    shaft and tip they should be alright. So as long as he doesn't succumb to infection any number of
    wounds would be debilitating, like an arrow to the knee. He could get around with a crutch(es)