1. sharee

sharee New Member

help please?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by sharee, Jul 13, 2007.

hi. it's my first time here..
    :( i've been experiencing depression lately because, unlike before, there are no more ideas or plots that come into my mind.. i can't even remember the last story i ever written, or even when it was that i have written it. so the bottomline is, i wanna write.. really, i have all the drive and energy to do so, the only problem is, i cannot come up with WHAT to write. and after much time, i really get frustrated with myself.
    i was wondering if anybody could help me out about this dilemma.. 'coz im dying to write.. please help me out..
    thanks a lot in advance. :)

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

Okay, writer's block. I have a few suggestions for you.

Firstly, simply sit down and write. I know it sounds like a stupid thing to say, but sometimes I find that if I just sit down and write anything, be it my thoughts at the time, what I can see out of the window, or even a detailed description of the stain on my desk, it can sometimes turn into a flood of its own accord.

Another idea would be to take a walk. Early in the morning, or in the evening perhaps, and watch the sunrise or sunset. That's helped me a few times. Just being alone and quiet whilst walking through nature can inspire you like nothing else.

Read anything you can get your hands on. It's perfectly acceptable to get your inspiration from other authors' works. That's not to say copy, but if you read a vampire novel that you really enjoy, why not try your own vampire novel or short story?

Try something like the short story contest on this site, or even the image short story contest. If you have a theme to write around, and something to specifically write for, then it can help you get back into writing.