1. smebro

smebro New Member

Kiwilander trying to stand out

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by smebro, Sep 8, 2006.

HI everyone, My name is Jase and I hail from the simplistic land of New Zealand. I’m 19 and I work as an appointment setter(cough telemarketer cough) I’m in my first year out of the constricting format of boarding school and the new free time has allowed me to finally take writing seriously. I did however spend the first part of the year in my flat enjoying government paid ‘free time’ before I finally found the structure that work provides and started spending three hours after work at my laptop(Usually till about three in the morning)typing away.
    I see a lot of young writers like myself have been massively inspired by Stephen King, perhaps in the next ten years we will have an influx of people who write with the inspired scope and perception that he does, publishing work that could be remarkable or copycatish. Whatever the case I am a dedicated Stephen king fan who still has about 6 more to read before I’ve read all his books published so far. Currently enjoying ‘Danse Macabre’ But I think after this its time to get familiar with Lovecraft and the other big cats of the genre I hope to achieve in.
    I’m approaching writing as a hobby(With some inspired thanks to ‘the write to write’). My book (which I dare not name or speak of for fear of ruining the dream) grew out of the failed first 3 chapters of a less inspired idea. I love it and I hate it, sometimes I’m oozing with pride and others I’m deep in wonder at a small flaw or suddenly revealed plot hole. But the adventure of it all is what keeps me going. I’m approaching the end of the first act and getting into the faster swing of the second. Anticipation and the heavy weight of things yet to type…
    Anyways, I get inspired by reading all your guys posts, and what better way to procrastinate then writing about the writing I should be doing?

2. Verto

Verto New Member