1. nippy818

nippy818 Active Member

Am I being too detailed...

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by nippy818, Mar 31, 2014.

I was hoping to get some constructive criticism for the introduction to my book. i have been outlining for 3 months and have finally jumped in and sadly i feel as though i may be getting to descriptive already. any pointers would be awesome.

The smell of sulfur. that was the first thing to hit me when the airlock opened. The smell of sulfur and the multi-colored plasma screaming at near sonic speeds. back and forth. The first war since the terraforming of the solar system and I was met with the smell of the primitive weapons the ancients used. We were there to protect the treaty, the one document that held all peace together, the one that that bound mankind into one being and we , the enforcers had arrived to quell the rebellion. The great Marines of the twin system the military arm of the Agents of Zion we the Peacekeepers.

2. Andrae Smith

Andrae Smith Gone exploring... in the inner realm... Contributor

Hey there Nick,

I would say you are being a little too descriptive if these are your opening lines. We don't know where we are or, more importantly, whose head we are in. The info you've presented can come a little later. I'd make a note about some of the mechanics, but that is best done in the Workshop.

Best,

Andrae

Last edited: Mar 31, 2014
  3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

First of all, welcome to the forum. You may want to read the forum rules, particularly those related to posting work for review.

I agree with Andrae. It's not a question of how much detail but rather whether or not you are pulling the reader in. This doesn't. It actually reads as if you are picturing a movie in your head and trying to describe what you see.

Andrae Smith likes this.
  4. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

Welcome to the forums, nippy818!