1. Michael Fairbanks

Michael Fairbanks New Member

Am I in violation of trademark or copyright using a TV title in my book title?

Discussion in 'Research' started by Michael Fairbanks, Jul 8, 2016.

I'm more than half-way through my book. The current working title is Dead Fan: How I Became the Most Hated Walking Dead Fan in America.

It's nonfiction and mostly a memoire type of book-- narrative nonfiction.

A friend told me that AMC (the network that produces The Walking Dead) might take issue with the use of their show in my book's title. Her comment gave me concern, as I obviously don't want to get in trouble, and I really don't want to change the title. It's very fundamental to the entire book.

Book Summary: I am a freelance writer/photographer who photographed all but a few of the actors from The Walking Dead, and have dozens of stories of fan-to-fan conflict, actor-to-fan conflict, and conflict between various fan groups on social media and other online outlets. Follow me as I went from one of the biggest, most successful fan photographers to the most hated fan in America. Hundreds of photos of the actors and film locations included.

Any thoughts about whether my book's title will get me in any kind of trouble? Thanks

2. U.G. Ridley

U.G. Ridley I'm a wizard, Hagrid