1. sprirj

sprirj Contributing Member

Am I over thinking it? Style over Substance

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by sprirj, Feb 2, 2011.

Don't get me wrong, my novel has substance in terms of the story line, but as a new writer I'm tripping up a little on the delivery.

My novel is written in first person, it is a mystery type of novel, so the reader can't know all the facts.
    The story is told through my Main Character, but he has multiple voices in his head.
    Now if you heard a voice in your head, you would know instantly, right? You wouldn't give it a second thought if you were used to it.

So I wouldn't say something like:

"Look at that over there" Said Bob

Because thats not how we think. My MC would know it was Bob.

So my question really is, how do I not confuse the reader, when my MC has voices in his head....

:confused:

2. evelon

evelon Active Member

3. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributing Member Contributor

Presumably when first person the person narrating also knows who is speaking to them, you still use dialogue beats, story and tags to identify the speaker.

4. HorusEye

HorusEye Contributing Member Contributor

Thoughts are a jumbled mess of abstract imagery, emotions, formulated dialogue and not so formulated dialogue. If you somehow managed to write thoughts as they are, nobody would be able to stand reading it. Even stream of consciousness is edited to have flow and make sense. Adding dialogue tags is a minor thing in this context. Even acid-heads like David Lynch use (visual) characters to represent paranoid hallucinations, and as such impose some kind of structure and order on things that really have none.

5. Islander

Islander Contributing Member Contributor

That's okay, because the reader doesn't tend to notice dialogue tags, they're just there in the background - just as your MC doesn't actively think about which voice is speaking.