1. lucero

lucero New Member

How to properly write conversation into a sentence

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by lucero, Jan 21, 2010.

Real quick, I wanted to say hello. I am new to the forums. I don't know how much I can help because I am very new to learning proper grammar and writing. I hope in the future I will be more help.

I can't figure out how to properly write a conversation/quote into a sentence. I would love your opinion on the following sentence.

Sentence: Sure, you can over simplify things and say "Take a break when you are stressed out before things become too intense." This can work in theory but people often need more direct instruction to achieve this.

Is that written correctly?

2. ManhattanMss

ManhattanMss New Member

I often see a comma following the word "say" in constructions like this where the quote is simply the object of the transitive verb (as it is here); but I don't think it actually needs one. The meaning is clear without the comma, and we're not dealing with a dialogue tag.

I'd probably put a comma before "but," because it conjoins two complete (and contrasting) thoughts; but lots of writers prefer to omit this punctuation when no confusion results or the sentence doesn't seem overly complex.

Both these choices are probably stylistic and reflect preferences (to some extent), since the meaning is perfectly clear. I do think "oversimplify" will need to be one word, though.:)

3. digitig

digitig Contributor Contributor

Orpington, Bromley, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    The comma used to be mandatory, but the modern trend is towards less punctuation and it tends to be dropped nowadays. Neither is "right" or "wrong" -- language changes.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

No, it should be: