Tags:
  1. Marloy

Marloy New Member

Antagonism?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Marloy, Jun 19, 2008.

Antagonism ?

I've been working on my story for about 2 years now. I have the central theme, the plot, the protaganist, the characters, etc. I've currently restarted (again) because of certain problems with the way it's starting to flow, but I just realized that I have only planned out the story to the middle and after that I will be absolutely free-falling into nowhere because I'm not sure where to go. I also noticed that, even though I know the obstacle that my character is facing, there is nothing to back it up.

What I'm trying to say is I don't have an actual antagonist. I know that the obstacle can come in any shape or form, whether it be that the main character is their own antagonist or that the bad guy can be an animal, or even something non-living like trying to ride a bike. But all I have is something that is bad and keeping the MC from reaching ther goal, nothing more.

All it is is an evil force that has nothing to back it up. I fear that if I try to give it personification or make it an entity it will come out as one of those clichéd "evil-overlord" types.

My question is, is there any way to pull off a story that has no real antagonist but is just something bad and is keeping the story consistent? I find there will also be problems when creating the climax and confrontation because, there is really nothing to confront.

Help would be appreciated! :)

2. Night

Night New Member

Well, it sounds to me like you have your protagonist fighting against a power greater than himself. Maybe fate, or power, or destiny? If that's the case, then you need to make your character unlock something within himself to defy the odds against him. Sorry if this answer doesn't really help. . . do you think you could give a little bit more detail about this evil force?

3. Marloy

Marloy New Member

Sorry, I thought that might be needed.