Tags:
  1. MightierThanTheSword

MightierThanTheSword New Member

My plot intimidates me; I can't write. I'd like help but I'm not sure what to do.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by MightierThanTheSword, Dec 28, 2009.

Okay, I'm not totally sure if this is allowed or if it's in the right forum, but I think it is! So, if it's not, mods, please remove it for me. :love: I truly don't want to cause trouble or break the rules, I'm just not sure about what to do.

Okay, so - I have this plot/outline/story thing that I've been working on since I was sixteen (I'm twenty now). I didn't know very much about writing then, and I'm still learning. My dream is to get this story completed and written to the very best of my ability. I also would really like to see it in print, but getting the thing written and completed comes before I even think about that part, you know?

My problem with the story is that even though I've learned a lot about info-dumping and head-hopping and flow and ten billion other things, I don't feel ready yet. I'm a person who relies heavily on outlines, and while I do realize you need to leave some room for spontaneity, I like to have a definite plan/direction in mind before I start writing. I've gotten a spot of critique for it here and there, and some of it was painful, but all of it was invaluable. The story has changed so much since its conception - events, places, and people have all been swapped around. I've been working on it for four years and the fartherest I've ever got in writing it was something like...three chapters? Every time I manage to find a person generous enough to critique it for me, they usually point out that part of the plot is weak. Going back and revising the plot means scrapping the three or four chapters I wrote and starting over.