1. webghoul

webghoul New Member

Inspiration for Writing please

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by webghoul, Aug 28, 2012.

Hey guys,

You see, I'm quite worried about my writing thing. Two weeks from now, I'm going to the university, and I'm pursuing a degree in Computer Science. Apparently, I will be an irreg sophomore or junior, depending on what the dean's gonna say.

Taking that, I am working as a Developer for an IT company, meaning I will be a working student. I will be much exposed to codes and the geek stuff. What's bothering me is that with all that's gonna happen, I might start to lose time to write and eventually forget about it along the way. Can you give me some tips to keep me inspired to write?

Will appreciate it. Thanks much! :>

2. Cynglen

Cynglen Member

As a student in Mechanical Engineering, I haven't written anything for class but math calculations for the last two years, so I get your concern. I was an avid writer before I came to college, and unfortunately I did loose touch with my creative side as time went on. I fell silent on this website for at least a year, and didn't produce any new works of literature for at least as long. I'm trying to revive my skills this year.

What I did do in the interim is join up with my campus's creative literary magazine. Small though it is, it allowed me to read and critique other people's works to decide what we would publish. I did this for the last two years, and now I've left that organization, but I think if I hadn't been a part of the magazine, my connection to creative writing/art would be even more strenuous.