1. Malice

Malice New Member

Any Advice?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Malice, Oct 28, 2008.

Hello, I'm Malice (new here ^^)
    Before I begin I'd like to say that I am a totally unprofessional ameteur writer (I'm a freshman in high school), so I deeply apologize for how stupid I may sound. My apologies to everyone out there who is more educated in the writing field than I am. :)

I just recently created a random character, a piano prodigy called Wolfgäng Klaviermeister, who wasn't supposed to be associated with anything in particular, but now I feel compelled to put this character into a literary work. My issue is that I have no idea how to get started. I have written short stories before, but for some reason, I'm having touble putting this particular character into a story.
    I was wondering if anybody had any strategies or advice for helping me create a politline using this character as a protagonist... I'm sorry if there is already a thread like this one, or if this is in the wrong place...or if it's just a stupid question XD

Thank you :)

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Plot comes from characters in conflict or overcoming obstacles to reach a goal. Set up a goal your character needs to achieve, then start tossing obstacles in the way.

3. Iris Reola

Iris Reola New Member

1. Make a list of bulleted plot events. If you know how it starts, put that in first. If you know how it ends, put that in too. In between the two, write down scenes that happen in between.

2. In conjunction with my first piece of advice, keep in mind your character's goals and what obstacles he has to get around to reach them.

3. Give the character some careful thought. What time period was he born in? What are his strengths and weaknesses? What does he look like? How does he act around people? Make sure your character is well developed.

4. Malice

Malice New Member

thanks for your replies, guys.