1. Mike Hill

Mike Hill Natural born citizen of republic of Finland.

Any Books on Movie Industry?

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Mike Hill, Mar 24, 2015.

I have been looking for non-fiction books about movie industry. I have found some, mostly biography's. If you have read a good book (there are plenty, but many of them are just hard to read) about movie making, live of an actor, director, make-up artist etc. I would be very interested in checking them out.

2. Quixote's Biographer

Quixote's Biographer Active Member

I can hopefully help you, being a film student myself, but you need to narrow down what you're asking :) What part of the industry are you interested in? We tend to separate the movie industry into four (this also goes for movie history); financial, esthetic, social and technological. Are you more interested in biographies? Are you looking to learn more about movies, either how they are constructed and how we analyze them at a very technical level, or are you more interested in theories about movies and different movements within movies, like theories on realism vs the formative tradition and so on?

Narrow it down a bit and I'll see if I can help you :)

Mike Hill likes this.
  3. Sack-a-Doo!

Sack-a-Doo! Contributor Contributor

Just Google:
    "what it's really like in Hollywood"
    You'll be amazed at the insights you'll find.

Mike Hill likes this.
  4. Mike Hill

Thank you for those four. Social is what intrests me most but I would like to read about other three too.
    Biographies are interesting but they tend to have few issues. I'm not that interested in Holllywood personalities.
    Analyzing them at a techinical level is what I'm most interested in.
    Theories are less interesting but if you know a great book I'll take a look.
    Hopefully this made things clearer.

Quixote's Biographer likes this.
  5. Quixote's Biographer

Quixote's Biographer Active Member