1. shamrock838

shamrock838 New Member

Any Readability Software Users Out There?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by shamrock838, Feb 28, 2009.

Any Readability Software Users Out There?:

I’m a nonfiction writer/photographer and market my efforts to both adult-level and juvenile audiences. In this regard I’m looking for a well-rounded readability program, but I’m a tad confused by the plethora of offerings and readability formulas on the market.

I do use what’s available with MS Word 2003 and it’s OK for a start. I also have RightWriter 5.0.40.4, which is better. Still, I’m looking for something with more readability options … without having to “spend the moon.”

Therefore, I’d like to get in touch with other readability software users for their input, experiences, suggestions, etc. Any takers?

Thanks.

2. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor

What exactly do you mean by readability softwear? What do you want the kind of program you are looking for to do?

3. Nilfiry

Nilfiry Senior Member

You mean readibility as in measurements of the Flesch-Kincaid Grade Level and Reading Ease and words per sentences and such?

4. sorites

sorites New Member

That's when you have the days of the week written on your unmentionables. :p

5. architectus

architectus Banned

I don't see the use of readability software, unless you are only interested in the average words per paragraph and sentence or something, but word does that.

What readability software cannot do, is determine the complexity of the sentences used. The length of a sentence does not determine the complexity. It cannot detect metaphors, similes, idioms, and so forth.

The best thing to do is learn how books are written for the age group you are writing for. Check books written for that age group and see if metaphors, idioms, and similes are used, and if so, what kind? What sentence structures are used? Vocabulary is also important.

6. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor