1. Inspired writer

Inspired writer New Member

Anybody had a go at Sci-fi?

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by Inspired writer, Feb 3, 2012.

It's hard stuff isn't it? Never really a fan of Star Trek or Star wars etc, so you can imagine how I'm struggling.

2. TDFuhringer

TDFuhringer Contributor Contributor

I'm currently writing an entry for the Science Fiction Short Story Contest. Science fiction is fun. It doesn't have to be like Star Trek or Star Wars. The Matrix is Science Fiction. So is Blade Runner or Alien. In books, there's everything from Dune to Orion, from 2001 to Hyperion. Ooh I almost forgot the Foundation series and the Rama series. All great stuff. Take a look!

3. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

I grew up reading science fiction. To me, it's not hard stuff; it's the most natural stuff. It's the amniotic fluid I swam in. I write science fiction today and enjoy it. I learned a lot of science as a kid, and I studied engineering in university, so I'm comfortable with the science part of it.

What I have trouble with is modern-day, realistic fiction. I could never write a story set in New York City in 2012, for instance, because I know nearly nothing about New York. I'd have to do (gasp!) research, and even then I'm sure I'd get a ton of stuff wrong, and everyone who knows New York would laugh at my worthless attempt to convey the sense of what it's like to be in New York.

So I stay in my comfort zones, and science fiction is one of them.

4. jc.

jc. Member

At first I had trouble with science fiction, but after writing synopses and brainstorming for hours for something within my comport zone (I'm not scientifically inclined) I found quite a few ideas. I did end up doing quite a bit of research on some things, but I'm pretty proud of myself. Who new a girly girl like me could come up with something like that? What was meant to be a short story now has enough material for an entire trilogy.