1. archerfenris

archerfenris Active Member

How Many Rejection Letters?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by archerfenris, Dec 17, 2014.

I have a simple question for all of you older writers who are willing to put their numbers out there to a bunch of strangers: how many rejection letters have you received?

I'm a new writer and haven't even finished my first novel, let alone begun sending in queries. I'm curious what the going rate is for us novelist hopefuls. Also, once you receive these rejection letters, how do you guys motivate yourselves to continue on?

I'm told Steven King put every rejection letter he ever received on the wall over his writing desk until he was published.

2. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

It depends, to be honest. JK Rowling had a few hundred before she nailed it.

3. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Is this confirmed, or an urban legend? I've heard she got an agent fairly quickly, and found a publisher within about a year, which, while not fast, isn't time for hundreds of rejections, either... No idea what's true.

4. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

Not sure if it's true or not, but the basic gist of it is that very few authors land an agent and a publishing company on the first go.

5. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

I've only received about six rejection letters, all for short stories and novelettes. I don't submit much, alas.

British crime writer John Creasey was maybe the most rejected writer who eventually found success of all time. He collected 743 rejection letters before making his first sale, and wound up publishing over 600 (!) novels under twenty-eight different pseudonyms. He is an inspiration to us all! :)

TDFuhringer and peachalulu like this.
  6. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor