1. The-Joker

The-Joker Contributor Contributor

Novel What's in a number?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by The-Joker, Sep 18, 2008.

I’ve never really thought about quantifying the length of a book according the number of words it contains but that’s the unit everybody seems to be using around here. I’ve written about 40 000 words so far on a pet project of mine, and that’s two chapters of a projected 28 chapter novel. Although it wasn’t my intention, this extrapolates into a rather lengthy read and more importantly write. But then I’m not sure just how lengthy that is(560 000 words, is that within the boundaries of normality?). Bearing in mind that I’m new at the writing game and therefore might suddenly and inexplicably just quit, should I revise the plot and try to shorten it, maybe figure out a way to split it( its fantasy), or should I labour on until the fulfilment of my original vision is reached.

I guess what I’m asking is 560 000 words ambitious for a first timer? What it is the recommended length for a first novel? Oh and if somebody could cite a popular book that’s around 550 000 words so I know what I’m dealing with here.

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

560,000 words?!

Are you serious? That's much, much too long. I'm not sure of any books I can suggest that are that long. Maybe the whole of Lord of the Rings (all three parts, put together). But that's an astronomical amount. Most first novels are between 100,000 and 200,000 words, though it does depend on the genre.

And if you have covered only two chapters, and 40,000 words, then I'd say your chapters are far too long. I generally have chapters between 2,000 and 3,000 words, which as I understand it is quite long. I'd urge you to have a look at your writing, and check it isn't too long winded.

3. TheAdlerian

TheAdlerian New Member