1. writerdude11

writerdude11 New Member

Question about first critcism on short story

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by writerdude11, Apr 17, 2013.

Hey guys, I just recieved my FIRST criticism from an editorial dept here in my town and I have a question for those experienced writers who have worked with editors on what to do when receiving criticism on your writing. Is ok to not agree and dismiss things that you think are insignificant or wrong and just take the most important parts that you think are right or valid and use that as valuable feedback. This is my first time so I don't know quite what Im doing. If anyone could give me feedback on what they think I'd greatly appreciate it, Thanks!

2. blackstar21595

blackstar21595 New Member

It's constructive feedback, ultimately, the decision is up to you if you want to listen to what someone says, or dismiss it.

3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Does this editor work for a magazine or journal that you submitted your story to? Or is the editor someone you hired to correct mistakes and give general feedback?

4. Nee

Nee Member

Just send them a nice "thank you for you consideration" letter and move on.

5. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Why? A story by a new writer isn't going to be published as it is (I suppose in rare cases it might). There's going to be some editing involved, so if writerdude11 submitted this story to a magazine, he should expect a few revisions.

6. psychotick

psychotick Contributor Contributor

Hi,

Ultimately it's your work. You're the author, and you have executive control over it. In short you choose what advice to accept, what to reject.