1. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

Medicine and Sci-Fi: Regarding technological advancement.

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by Link the Writer, Aug 21, 2012.

Forgive me if I sound dumb about this. I'm not experienced with the sci-fi genre.

There's one thing I always had an issue with when I'm playing/watching/reading a sci-fi and it has to do with technology. For examples, we'll use Mass Effect and Star Wars. The problem I have is that when a sci-fi universe professes a highly advanced, technological society, they seem to be backward in certain areas.

In Mass Effect, they have managed to cure cancer, have mechanical optical implants (I am assuming this is what the Illusive Man has, what with his glowing eyes), and (SPOILER WARNING FOR MASS EFFECT 2) can bring a man/woman back from the dead (END SPOILER WARNING FOR MASS EFFECT 2). Yet, for some odd reason, the pilot of the SSV Normandy, Joker, has brittle bone disease. You expect me to believe that a society that can cure cancer and revive dead people can't seem to figure out how to fix up a genetic disorder like brittle bone disease? Seems to me all Joker would need is augumentations starting when he was a baby, and he'd be able to walk relatively fine.

In Star Trek, they have Geordi, a blind starship member of the USS Enterprise, and he wears a VISOR around his eyes. OK, cool. But...wouldn't they have invented prothsetic mechanical eyes by this time, so Geordi wouldn't need a VISOR? He could just have implants? If a society could figure out a way to break you down to molecular levels ad warp you to another location...then why is Geordi still wearing a VISOR when he could have mechanical eyes?