1. aClem

aClem Active Member

Style Writing for writers and writing for readers

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by aClem, Jan 31, 2014.

I'll begin with an analogy of sorts.

I used to be a professional musician for a living, and I know more musicians than I can count. There were musicians who weren't really able to play well and I never enjoyed playing in a bad band, but I also knew quite a few who had the "chops" to play almost anything, but who felt compelled to show off their chops at every opportunity, no matter the context. It's as if they were playing to some imaginary audience who were there to be impressed by their "chops." And strangely enough, or not strangely enough, only the bad musicians were impressed.

When it comes to writing, I think some fall into the trap of writing to show off skill level rather than to produce a worthwhile work. Just what a worthwhile work might be isn't easy for me to define, but it isn't ONLY descriptive flourishes and magnificent metaphors.

I think we may be encouraged here towards trying to impress due to the nature of the "audience." I don't want to dismiss those with talent for verbal flourishes, but I think one can err by doing the literary equivalent of "overplaying. "

Of course, I may just be rationalizing my own shortcomings. Thoughts?

TDFuhringer likes this.
  2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

I think you've positioned a digit squarely on one of the biggest mistakes made by new writers - overwriting. I've seen many stories that tried too hard to be impressive in form and language. Instead of being a thing of dazzling literary beauty. It looks stilted and rather clumsy.

First, communicate with simple clarity.

TDFuhringer likes this.
  3. Passero

Passero Member

I'm a new writer and I can see where this is going to.