1. mrspiggy

mrspiggy New Member

ask for advice on plot for animated short

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by mrspiggy, Aug 15, 2012.

Hi there! I am desprate, searching the web and other places hoping to get some advice... ( I appologise for my spelling for English is not my mother tounge and I'm not used to write in it)...

I am an animation student and currently developing a plot for a graduation short film of aprox 2 minutes.
    I seem to have tons of inspiration regarding locations , charaters, specific shots and camera angles etc, and a very firm idea of the feal and atmosphere I want and also a general message .
    but no matter how hard I try I cant put it together to a decent story...
    its important to say that I find it very hard to relate to the majority of short stories or short animated films... I tend to find most of them unsatisfying or dull compared to long ones...they tend to either be pointless or very preachy.( maybe I don't know enough good ones) but unfortunatly its gonna take me a whole year just to tie these 2 minutes together well... so it'll have to be short and simple.
    I know this world is packed with my type ( people who have beginings of stories and atmospheres) and lacks the other very very rare type...

is there any advice you can give me on how to find the solution? some techniques maybe? Ive tried looking at inspirations but most of my inspirations that have plots are very long and complicated ones and I need to keep it simple because I need to animate all of it by myself with very little means. also ive searched for writing tips in google and they were unhelpful as well... its down right bugging me!

so heres the generall idea for whoever is curious:
    it begins on a northeren island in the north sea ( maybe faroe islands)