1. matwoolf

matwoolf Banned Contributor

Atlantic Magazine

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by matwoolf, Oct 31, 2016.

I always read about people having multiple subscriptions to literary magazines.

Probably I was drunk, but [that night] got to thinking - maybe with a subscription to all that is hot, febrile in magazine form, I might have plenty to say - casual conversations, might improve my lot somewhat, entertain ladies at bus stops.

Always an ambition to have a 'nice' magazine resting round the house, counters the chaos, so I, almost randomly...also I like American advertisements, so I got a subscription

...but it is a bit boring.

Two copies now - both are quite boring.

I have to wait twelve months till I can try the next one - Tin House. Is the Atlantic 'quite boring' to an American audience? Am I not the right sort of reader, maybe too stupid?

VynniL likes this.
  2. matwoolf

I dunno, don't think I'll like any of them, beret glued to my head 'an all...

Once I found this magazine in London, so strange - reading it on-line was kind of magical. Then I discovered a review, some journalist called it avante-garde. I thought 'this is great,' sent the sub-ed a submission...

His response was three times longer than my original story submission. Totally bonkers, twenty pages, a proper hero really. Maybe I'll go seek him out again? Of course he only published his own 'stuff,' tch..maybe...a conceptual artist blah blah yaw yaw yawnnn :)

[Yes, and they're so expensive - I can afford to 'throw away' $30 a year on a subscription, but any more frivolous she'd divorce me properly, y'know...inappropriate humour, etcet]

Last edited: Oct 31, 2016
  3. VynniL

VynniL Contributor Contributor

As usual HUH? I'm beginning to suspect you're really an alien.