1. Marie Churchman

Marie Churchman New Member

Being published in magazines: important for cred.?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Marie Churchman, Dec 11, 2013.

:) I'm a new writer, dealing with rejection for the first time. I've sent short stories (mostly flash fiction) in to several online magazines, and although I knew to expect an uphill road, the word "declined" does sting a bit when you see it so often. I can persevere, but what I want to know is this: how important is it to be published in a literary magazine? My thinking has been that it would be wise to establish credibility in this way before attempting something greater, like publishing an ebook. What path has worked for those of you that are many steps ahead of me? Also, how long does it usually seem to take before you see the magical word "accepted"? Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

2. Siena

Siena Senior Member

For getting more magazine work, probably. You're building a portfolio. Connections won't hurt either.

For "bigger stuff" I'm not sure it'll help. If you want to publish a book, it's just going to have to be a good, good story, regardless of what you've done before.

3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Getting published in reputable magazines can potentially make it easier for you to get an agent and a publisher. It means you probably have an established audience that would recognize your name on a book cover. I've always believed that getting stories published in magazines before trying to publish a novel is a good way to go. In fact, I know a lot of contemporary novelists who did this. However, it certainly isn't a necessary way of doing things.

It depends. For some writers it may take 5 rejections before their piece is accepted. For others it might be 10 rejections. Or 100 rejections. It's really hard to measure this sort of thing. Your best bet is to keep sending your work out there. Good luck.

4. TWErvin2