1. M.S. Gabrielle

M.S. Gabrielle New Member

Best way to start a story

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by M.S. Gabrielle, Nov 15, 2015.

I'm an amateur writer at best, despite making countless stories (that I've never finished) in the past. I'm a harsh critic towards myself, you see.

I've recently decided on starting a novel, maybe a trilogy. I want to finish it as well. But I find myself unable to make a proper opening. I do not want to start out flat or make a cliche introduction.

I plan on making an action/adventure novel wherein the protagonist, a bubbly yet determined girl, is introduced with some... flair? She isn't optimistic, per se, but she does have quite a lot of exuberance and edge to her, but can be analytical and serious when the situation calls for it.

Every time I try to think of a suitable introduction I always hit a dead end. I have everything roughly planned out, but the opening is where I am struggling with. I really do want to hook the readers to the story as they read the first few pages.

What do you suggest?

Your opinions and suggestions do not have to be specific, I just need an outline or idea of what to do.

Thank you very much!

2. DefinitelyMaybe

DefinitelyMaybe Contributing Member Contributor

When I was asking myself the same question as you, I went to a library and spent hours reading the first pages of many books from many different genres. The same can be done using "Look Inside" on Amazon.

Ask yourself: which of these starting paragraphs would make you want to read the rest of the book. How much detail they contain. Whether they start in the middle of the story or somewhere else. Whether they start with a static or active scene. Etc. Look for patterns that you feel make a good start to a story, and then try to think how you would do something similar for your own stories.

3. NigeTheHat

NigeTheHat Contributing Member Contributor