1. KatieValino

KatieValino Member

Beta Reader Available

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by KatieValino, Jun 28, 2014.

Hey there guys and gals. Some of you may remember me, some of you not so much. I am Kate and I am currently a student/full time care worker on the cusp of graduating. I have some spare time this summer due to not having to study for the first time in ages. I do not like having nothing to do and since I have met some wonderful people on here who do the same for me, I would very much like to offer up my services as a beta reader. I am going to be taking an MA in editing and publishing as of 2016 so this will all be good practice for when I do, not to mention beneficial for the writer too.
    I make no claims of being an expert, merely a long time reader and helpful person who enjoys helping people with their creative outlets. I know what works in books and what doesn't (as an amateur) and I would very much love to be of service.

2. Catrin Lewis

Catrin Lewis Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2023 Community Volunteer

Hi, Kate, pleased to make your virtual acquaintance.

Beta readers are good people to have around and your offer is a generous one. What I would want to know first off (speaking only for myself, you understand) is what genres you're most amenable to and how you approach critique in general. You've given some crits in the Workshop, or you wouldn't be a full member. But I haven't been able to see them, for how to home in on any member's critical input, yours included, is outside my scope of knowledge.