1. Anonym

Anonym New Member

Better at crafting a plot than actually writing.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Anonym, Apr 1, 2012.

I'm confident in my ability to weave a compelling and coherent plot, but I occasionally feel that when it comes to actually writing it, I might not be able to pull it off. Especially with my current project.

I don't think I'm a bad writer. Still a work in progress of course, and getting better with practice, like anyone.

But sometimes it feels like there's this... bridge, between the plotting process and putting the plot into the right words, that I'm not sure I can traverse. I don't always feel that the quality of my writing does justice to the caliber and scope of my story, basically. In the mean time I'm working on sharpening my writing skills, but still, not sure how long it'll take to be satisfied with both my plot and my writing. Perhaps I'm impatient.

Worst case scenario, I wonder if I'll need someone to write it, which is a damn nightmare for me.

Probably an odd issue for a writing forum, but maybe I'm not the only one. Anyone ever run into a similar issue? Any advice, other than/including practice?

2. colorthemap

colorthemap New Member

The best advice, and only advice you are likely to get, is to simply write. Don't worry about quality first time around, you can fix that. You will be amazed what content(read amount you have written) will do to your writing habits. It is advice I myself have trouble following but try it nonetheless.

3. Anonym

Anonym New Member

I get that. Thank you, sincerely. I realize that reading and writing are generally the only means by which a person can properly render their plot. Eventually, in my case. As I said, I'm working on it :)

I suppose I'm venting over the frustration of my reach is exceeding my grasp. And maybe, hoping that my experience isn't aberrational for some writers, let alone most in general.

4. erik martin

erik martin Active Member