1. MrDeftino

MrDeftino New Member

Help Selecting a Plot Route/Story Arc

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by MrDeftino, Jan 13, 2015.

Hi guys. I'm an extreme novice in creative writing, and by that I mean I haven't written a story in novel format since my GCSEs 7 years ago. I have a degree in Digital Film Production which involved crafting scripts, but those were collective efforts so I could only come up with part of the story. I've recently had an idea for a story but I'm unsure which story arc to take with it.

I came up with the idea while thinking about animals hibernating and I wondered what would it be like if some of us had to 'hibernate'?

The Setting: Earth, which is almost inhabitable during winter due to global warming (not sure on the science of this but this is the idea for now). It is possible to survive but extremely difficult.

Main Plot: Because of this extremely harsh winter, the government built vaults to house the mass populations of people all over the country. However, some groups of people named Scavengers (not final name) choose not to go into the vaults, which is illegal, and steal from the houses of those in the vaults so that when the spring/summer comes around, they can live a more luxurious life. But the price of this is surviving the entire winter outside the vaults.

Plot Strands: This is where I begin to become unsure of where to take the story, there are so many variables and I'm unsure which strand to follow.

1. Our main character is a vaulter, who either escapes or is somehow forced out of the vault and is forced to become a Scavenger, telling the tale of their survival in the winter and personal moral conflicts they face as they use the other Scavengers to survive, but disapprove of their goals and motives.