1. Flashfire07

Flashfire07 Active Member

Blending action and horror?

Discussion in 'Horror' started by Flashfire07, Sep 15, 2011.

As I'm a horror writer at heart I tend to write stories where the characters have their backs against the wall for pretty much the entire story, one of my friends has told me that this a boring way to write and I'm wondering if it's possible to add a bit more "Rule of cool" as he puts it while also maintaining the horror?

2. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

What exactly are you asking?

Of course it's "possible" to blend action and horror. You're the writer and it's possible to write whatever the hell you think of, lol. ;)

3. Flashfire07

Basically what I'm asking is how to blend action with horror without diluting the tension and fear needed for horror.

4. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

Don't go on huge infodumps stating what happened in the action. Focus on the five senses during the action/fighting, but convey details in passing rather than describing them in a big block. For the horror, find some creepy ambiguous cue (could be a noise, smell, sight etc) and build tension based off of that, and weave it in among the action.

5. Lothgar

Lothgar New Member

The thing about horror, as I understand it, is that the tension and fear come from being in a dark situation, where you don't have control over some, or in some cases, any of the situation.

If you choose to interject action into your story, you should probably be careful not to over do it. Most horror is about realizing the impending doom and trying to escape. Sometimes its a case where the MC realizes some terrible evil is coming and he has to figure out a way to stop it from getting here (because its too late once it arrives)....or some other variation.