1. Sharie

Sharie New Member

Not exactly a writer . . .

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Sharie, Jan 2, 2015.

Greetings, all!

I'm not a professional or even serious writer by any means. I mostly write essays about nature and gardening on an open participation blog and entertain myself pretending to write the occasional short story. I actually have quite a bit of fun building the world my short stories are located in but I have no particular ambition to publish.

I started the story series while taking a creative writing class in the evenings a few years ago. My teacher told me the second story was good, which I appreciated. I think so, too, though it could still use a little polishing in my opinion. I suppose you could call it straight fiction but there is the faintest thread of fantasy in it, too. It runs about 7300 words - is it something I could share here for comment or is that too long?

I'm currently working on revising the first story and doing more world-building. The original version was frankly wretched. The idea for the plot was OK but the execution was horrible, the whole thing was a cliched mess. I'm ripping it apart and combining the first idea with what was going to be the third story . . . well, you get the idea. A good time is being had by all.

Anyway, I've been enjoying reading this site and lurking for a while and just thought I'd say hi - hi!

Sharie

GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. Amanda_Geisler

Amanda_Geisler Senior Member

Hi Sharie,

Welcome to the forums, it doesn't matter who you are, where you come from or how much experience you have here. We have new writers experienced writers (I like to think myself somewhere in the middle, but I wouldn't be surprised if I'm still on the lower end of that stick), authors of self-published works and/or traditionally published works. There are also probably people from almost, if not all, cultures, religions and distance corners of the world.