1. live2write

live2write Senior Member

Building a reputation

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by live2write, Feb 11, 2012.

I am a part-time writer. My main job is an artist and a photographer. I want to start my career in writing. I do not want to blindly complete a story and submit it to an agent. I want to show that I have evolved and I have some stories and samples around on the internet and some published in e-zines, websites, etc.

I have a shopping list of stories that I would not mind to self publish online and a list of stories I lock away for publishing. Any suggestions to what I should do if I want to see my book be on the shelves in bookstores or sold online?

Is it good to have some of my "rejected" but great works published online?

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Getting short stories published is a great way to build a reputation. In most cases you don't need an agent to submit short stories. Just go to duotrope.com and search through listings of markets.

Once you've established a reputation/audience for yourself, you can focus on writing and getting a novel published. I recommend the traditional route rather than self-publishing because in traditional publishing the publisher pays the author, not the other way around.

3. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

thirdwind's advice is good. Submit to short story markets, and then you'll have a catalogue of publishing credits to serve as your reputation.

I think in that case, you need to be asking yourself why they were rejected. Self-publishing stories online can work, but only if you put the promotional legwork in. It's categorically not an easy option. If you just stick something on the internet and leave it there, it's less likely to make a positive contribution to your reputation. I'd suggest you're probably be better off working on improving your stories and getting them published traditionally.

4. live2write